DBIO Awards Announcement

The 2008 DBIO awards were presented at the Seattle conference during our annual business meeting and breakfast on Tuesday, June 17. Please join the Awards Committee in congratulating these exceptional colleagues.

Distinguished Member Award: Janet Cooper Weiss Winifred Sewell Prize: Diane Schmidt Chair's Recognition Awards: Carol Lepzelter Berry

Congratulations Janet, Diane and Carol!

DBIO Awards Committee: Michele Tennant, Chair Nancy Stimson Louisa Worthington Rogers

Distinguished Member Award

The Biomedical and Life Sciences Divisions Distinguished Member Award is given annually to a DBIO member who has demonstrated distinction and exemplary service to the division and the profession. The 2008 recipient of the Distinguished Member Award, Janet Cooper Weiss, exemplifies these characteristics. She has been extremely active in the division, particularly over the last 10 years, serving in the following capacities:

Chair, Public Relations Committee; chair and member, Fund Development Committee; chair, Student Relations and Career Guidance Committee; chair, Professional Development Committee; member, Program Planning Committee; chair, Nominations Committee; member, Ad Hoc Committee on Web Design.

As if this were not enough, Janet has served as DBIO division chair. As one DMA nominator stated – "it makes me tired just looking at this list!"

Not only has Janet been active in DBIO, but she has also been active at the chapter level for over 15 years, serving on a number of committees and as Princeton-Trenton Chapter president and treasurer, and New Jersey Chapter treasurer. Janet has also been active in the Pharmaceutical and Health Technology Division, as well as at the association level.

This sheer number of activities has been impressive, but just as impressive is the fact that Janet has been an effective leader and a pleasure for all who have worked with her. Janet has exhibited leadership beyond what is normally expected as DBIO chair. Again, from a nomination letter: "Janet led the division through a term as chair during SLA-wide change. This involved working with the nominations and elections committee on a shift in calendar, asking all committee members to commit to extra time serving the division, paying close attention to SLA changes that would affect the division, not to mention serving an extra six months. All of this was performed with great attention to

detail, nuanced thinking and constant work to keep others aware of processes and consequences. All of this was accepted with grace and determination."

Janet has performed with distinction in a number of libraries and information centers, including those in both the academic and corporate environments. It is gratifying to know that she has been appreciated in the workplace as well as in SLA, having been awarded the "Above and Beyond Award" from a former employer.

It is also gratifying to know that Janet loves being a librarian. As told to a DBIO member earlier this year: "I don't know how to describe it - when I went to graduate school I felt that I had found my home. I'm very lucky, a lot of people aren't that lucky, to enjoy their jobs as much as I do. I wish that for everyone - that they would find a job or a career that gives them joy."

Winifred Sewell Prize

The Winifred Sewell Prize for Innovation is awarded to a DBIO member who has shown leadership and innovation in the development and/or use of advanced technologies in the organization or dissemination of biomedical and life sciences information. The prize is named in honor of Winifred Sewell, who was a long-time member of the BIO Division from 1946 to her death in 2002 and served on the DBIO Awards Committee.

Winifred was a major figure in drug literature at the National Library of Medicine and a pioneer in the use of information technology. She taught at the University of Maryland School of Library and Information Science and was a mentor to many of us who studied and worked with her. A brief biography is in Bowker's "American Men & Women of Science" 1998-1999, 20th edition, Vol. 6, pg. 776.

The 2008 Winifred Sewell Prize goes to Diane Schmidt, the biology librarian at the University of Illinois Library at Urbana-Champaign, for her development of the "International Field Guides" website.

[Note - The following information and quotes concerning the website were read at the awards ceremony and have been taken from the article "<u>U. of I. librarian launches</u> comprehensive Web database of field guides", by Andrea Lynn.]

"Diane Schmidt ... has built and launched the most complete database of field guides to date. The International Field Guides Web Site merges Diane's own book, "A Guide to Field Guides: Identifying the Natural History of North America" (Libraries Unlimited, 1999), and its companion Web site, International Field Guides, plus 2,000 new titles."

According to the article, after copyright to the book was returned by the publisher, Diane "decided to combine the two products and create a searchable database of field guides for plants, animals and other objects in North America and around the world." In the article, Diane indicated that "The new database is getting at least 5,000 hits per month." Lynn notes that "The new and enlarged database has a "book bag" feature that allows users to download information from items they select, which includes the title, author, date and place of publication, a description of the book, often the ISBN number and approximate cost, plus the region the book focuses on. The site offers more than 5,000 records to date. The field guides are classified by type of organism and region covered. Eighteen categories are represented: from animals and edible plants, to flora and fauna, and miscellaneous ... Each field guide is described with the type of illustrations, the presence of keys – important for identifying difficult groups, and range maps and "other useful details that help users decide which field guide to use."

A project 16 years in the making, the creation of the International Field Guides website has been a monumental effort and is unique in that it pulls together in one database guides to information on how to identify plants and animals from all over the world. Diane uses technology to provide access to a wealth of information that would have otherwise been difficult to find, and as such, is a deserving recipient of the Winifred Sewell Prize.

Chair's Recognition Award

This year I would like to present the Chair's Recognition award to <u>Carol Lepzelter Berry</u>. Carol is not with us here today, but I would like to say that Carol has worked on our website for over 10 years.

Carol joined SLA DBIO in 1997, and shortly thereafter volunteered to assist Margaret Henderson on the Division website. Since the end of 1998, when Margaret retired, she has been the chair of the web subcommittee, and has been assisted by various people since that time.

Over the years Carol has been our faithful webmaster and worked diligently to see that the website was accurate and up to date. In 2006, she redesigned and reorganized website, and was the catalyst who proposed to Claudia Lascar, that we hire a designer to professionally redesign the website. In 2006-2007 she participated on the Web Site Redesign Project, under the leadership of Claudia Lascar, and worked with Dave Matthews, from Ink Stain Design, in coordinating the website, since the redesign.

Carol has implanted untold hundreds of update and changes to website over the years in a timely fashion. Since the website, along with *Biofeedback* is our primary means of communication in the Division, and Carol is a critical piece of the website, I would like to recognize Carol for her years of outstanding service to the Division.

Thank you Carol!