SLA Biomedical and Life Sciences Division

Nominations & Elections Biographies

2014 DBIO Board of Directors Biographies - Chair-Elect and Secretary

The Nominations and Elections Committee is pleased to announce the candidates for Biomedical and Life Sciences Division Board of Directors positions for Chair-Elect and Secretary.

Chair - Elect: Nalini Mahajan
Nalini Mahajan is Medical Library Director and Webmaster since 1986 for the Marianjoy Rehabilitation Hospital in Wheaton, IL. Nalini won the 2010 “Librarian of the Year” award from DuPage Library System, IL. She is a part-time faculty at College of DuPage Library since 1981, and received the “outstanding Part-time Faculty Award” in 1996. In 2002 she was a recipient of “Scroll of Exemplary Service” for the Hospital Libraries Section of the Medical Library Association.

She is very active in the Special Library Association. Nalini has held several offices in DBIO: Secretary (2012-2013), Chair (2009-2010) and member (2007-2008) of the Vendor Relations Committee. She also serves on the Library Board of Advisors for Doody's Review Service.

Secretary: Christopher Hooper-Lane
Chris Hooper-Lane is currently the Clinical Science Team Lead and a clinical informationist at the University of Wisconsin Ebling Library in Madison, WI. A Special Library Association member for almost twenty years (DBIO since 2001), Chris served our Division most recently as the Past Chair, 2012 DBIO Chair, and the program planning chair for the New Orleans, LA, conference. Chris also currently serves as the division archivist and photographer. Prior to this, he has been a member of the Public Relations Committee and the Medical Section Chair (2004-2005).

Chris has also been active in other professional organizations, including MLA, Midwest Chapter of MLA, and the Wisconsin Health Sciences Library Association. Chris holds an MA (LIS) from the University of Wisconsin-Madison and is a senior member of The Academy of Health Information Professionals (AHIP).

Thanks to these special people for agreeing to run for office and for serving our Division.

Extra special thanks to The Nominations and Elections Committee for taking the time to deliberate and consider potential candidates.

Christopher Hooper-Lane, Chair
Nancy Dickenson
Diane Schmidt

Rev. December 2013